Daily Archives: August 9, 2009

Origen on the Literal Sense

Robert Lamberton, Homer the Theologian: Neoplatonist Allegorical Reading and the Growth of the Epic Tradition (Berkley and Los Angeles: University of California Press, 1986) 81. Origen is the only early Christian author known to me who makes explicit the analogy … Continue reading

Posted in Bible, Origen, Religion | Comments Off on Origen on the Literal Sense

Jimmy Swaggart on Ezekiel’s “Unfulfilled” Prophecies

I was watching Jimmy Swaggart today. He’s been doing a series on Bible prophecy, which covers the rapture, the Antichrist, the Second Coming, and Christ’s millennial reign. I had a bunch of episodes on my DVR, and I was in … Continue reading

Posted in Bible, Life, Religion, Television | Comments Off on Jimmy Swaggart on Ezekiel’s “Unfulfilled” Prophecies