Daily Archives: January 23, 2013

The Contender: Richard Nixon, The Congress Years 16

I finished Irwin Gellman’s The Contender: Richard Nixon, The Congress Years, 1946-1952.  I have a couple of items to discuss, then I’ll give my overall impression of the book. 1.  In my write-ups on Gellman’s book, I haven’t gone into … Continue reading

Posted in History, Political Philosophy, Politics | Tagged , , , , | Comments Off on The Contender: Richard Nixon, The Congress Years 16

What Kind of Jesus?

In my last post on Lee Harmon’s John’s Gospel: The Way It Happened, I mentioned Lee’s view that John was John of Gisclala, who was influential in a Jewish revolt against Rome that led to the destruction of the Temple … Continue reading

Posted in Bible, John's Gospel: The Way It Happened, Lee Harmon, Religion | Tagged , , , | Comments Off on What Kind of Jesus?