Daily Archives: March 22, 2011

Finishing Lemche’s The Canaanites and Their Land

I finished Niels Peter Lemche’s The Canaanites and Their Land.  In this post, I’d like to talk about Lemche’s search for the origin of the Hebrew Bible’s historical narrative.  Let me start with something he says on page 161: “Given … Continue reading

Posted in Bible, Religion | Comments Off on Finishing Lemche’s The Canaanites and Their Land

Ruether on the Jubilee

I’m continuing my way through Rosemary Ruether’s Gaia and God.  On page 213, Ruether discusses biblical alternatives to apocalypticism, which she dislikes because it supports the destruction of this present world, a view that isn’t exactly friendly to the environment … Continue reading

Posted in Bible, Religion, Women's History Month | Comments Off on Ruether on the Jubilee