Daily Archives: March 8, 2011

Nicholson’s Summary of Rendtorff’s Supplementary Hypothesis

I’m continuing my way through Ernest Nicholson’s The Pentateuch in the Twentieth Century.  In this post, I will talk about Rolf Rendtorff’s Supplementary Hypothesis of the Pentateuch. According to Rendtorff, independent “complexes of material within the patriarchal material in Genesis … Continue reading

Posted in Bible, Religion | Comments Off on Nicholson’s Summary of Rendtorff’s Supplementary Hypothesis

Jacquelyn Grant’s Critique of Rosemary Ruether

For my write-up today of Jacquelyn Grant’s White Women’s Christ and Black Women’s Jesus, I want to quote Dr. Grant’s problem with feminist theologian Rosemary Ruether’s views.  It’s on pages 145-146: “Both Russell and Ruether re-examine the tradition for usable … Continue reading

Posted in Religion, Women's History Month | Comments Off on Jacquelyn Grant’s Critique of Rosemary Ruether