Daily Archives: August 26, 2011

The Sanctity of Life, and Stephen King’s IT

I have two items from Stephen King’s IT, both of which relate to the sanctity of life. 1.  Patrick Hockstetter was a part of Henry Bowers’ gang of bullies.  He was a psychopath, but his teachers were not overly concerned … Continue reading

Posted in Stephen King | 2 Comments

Conversion, Intermarriage, and Matrilineal Descent (with Some Interesting Asides)

For my write-up today of Shaye Cohen’s The Beginnings of Jewishness: Boundaries, Varieties, Uncertainties, I will blog about Chapters 7-9.  What I will do is talk about what I consider to be the essence of the chapter, and then I … Continue reading

Posted in Bible, Rabbinics, Religion | Comments Off on Conversion, Intermarriage, and Matrilineal Descent (with Some Interesting Asides)