Guillaume-narrative and calendar

theoutwardquest

I had been traveling for a couple of weeks. So when I was back in my home church Sunday, I had to reorient myself. I had been gone on Pentecost Sunday, and did not think about it being Trinity Sunday until I realized that the colors, scripture readings and prayers all took in the theme of the Trinity.

When I was active clergy I would have been much more aware of the church calendar. In fact, I was sometimes the “calendar police” enforcing the proper colors on the chancel and otherwise ensuring that the calendar was kept.

This is to say that the religious calendar is often more a concern of clergy than of others.

So when we try to understand the large parts of the Pentateuch or the Hebrew Bible as a whole that have a “priestly” background (P), we should expect the calendar to be something those people…

View original post 628 more words

About jamesbradfordpate

My name is James Pate. I study the History of Biblical Interpretation at Hebrew Union College in Cincinnati, Ohio, as part of its Ph.D. program. I have an M.A. in Hebrew Bible from Jewish Theological Seminary, an M.Div. from Harvard Divinity School, and a B.A. from DePauw University. This blog is about my journey. I read books. I watch movies and TV shows. I go to church. I try to find meaning. And, when I can’t do that, I just talk about stuff that I find interesting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

