No Man is an Island by Thomas Merton, book review

Enough Light

It has long been on my list to read at least one book by Thomas Merton, Henri Nouwen, and Dallas Willard. I stumbled upon No Man is an Island by Thomas Merton at the thrift store, and as I flipped through it, I kept appreciating the excerpts I read – so I decided to buy it. It proved to be a worthwhile read.

You can google Thomas Merton if you have no familiarity with him. No Man is an Island is a collection of spiritual/Christian essays. The book is divided into chapters that focus on a particular topic, but within each chapter the thoughts are numbered. Perhaps this sounds choppy? But it was not, and I thought it helped the book flow.

We live in age (since the late 1800’s in particular) where the self has been idolized, and Merton presents a more balanced and Christian view of self. The…

View original post 745 more words

About jamesbradfordpate

My name is James Pate. I study the History of Biblical Interpretation at Hebrew Union College in Cincinnati, Ohio, as part of its Ph.D. program. I have an M.A. in Hebrew Bible from Jewish Theological Seminary, an M.Div. from Harvard Divinity School, and a B.A. from DePauw University. This blog is about my journey. I read books. I watch movies and TV shows. I go to church. I try to find meaning. And, when I can’t do that, I just talk about stuff that I find interesting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to No Man is an Island by Thomas Merton, book review

  1. Laura says:

    Thanks for the reblog James.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Elizabeth Egnew says:

    Wow! So grateful for your insights. Thank you for the Thomas Merton reminder — not Roman Catholic either, but he was an helpful signpost on the difficult way to a radically changed life.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. jamesbradfordpate says:

    Thank you for your comment, Elizabeth.

    Like

Leave a Reply

