Book Review: The Real Lincoln: A New Look at Abraham Lincoln, His Agenda, and an Unnecessary War

Reblogging for future reference.

Edge Induced Cohesion

The Real Lincoln:  A New Look at Abraham Lincoln, His Agenda, and an Unnecessary War, by Thomas J. DiLorenzo

Thomas DiLorenzo wouldn’t recognize the real Lincoln if he showed up in a top hat and an ill-fitting black suit and beat him upside the head with a cane.  And, if the real Lincoln ever did read this book, he’d have more than enough material for one of the biggest libel judgments of all time.  To give a full refutation of the many errors of this book would require a vastly larger note than this book deserves, but the book’s major and fundamental flaws as well as complete non sequitor arguments need to be mentioned so that any would-be reader of this book is given fair advance warning of its extremely flawed approach.

First, though, because enough bad things will be said about this book in the rest of the review…

View original post 2,119 more words

About jamesbradfordpate

My name is James Pate. I study the History of Biblical Interpretation at Hebrew Union College in Cincinnati, Ohio, as part of its Ph.D. program. I have an M.A. in Hebrew Bible from Jewish Theological Seminary, an M.Div. from Harvard Divinity School, and a B.A. from DePauw University. This blog is about my journey. I read books. I watch movies and TV shows. I go to church. I try to find meaning. And, when I can’t do that, I just talk about stuff that I find interesting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

