Book Review: Who Am I?: The Sixteen Basic Desires That Motivate Our Actions And Define Our Personalities

Edge Induced Cohesion

Who Am I?:  The Sixteen Basic Desires That Motivate Our Actions And Define Our Personalities, by Steven Reiss, Ph.D

Being someone who reads books on a massive scale, it should come as little surprise that I get a lot of book recommendations from other people.  I would likely not have read this book had I not received a recommendation on it from an old college flame of mine who happens to be the first girl I remember kissing–I was almost 19 at the time–and who happens to have remained a friend and is now married with four boys.  The reason for the recommendation likely springs from the fact that we both have a strong interest in personality theory and in understanding ourselves and others, and as that interest has led to some fascinating and entertaining reading in the past [1], I was willing to read this book once I saw…

View original post 845 more words

About jamesbradfordpate

My name is James Pate. I study the History of Biblical Interpretation at Hebrew Union College in Cincinnati, Ohio, as part of its Ph.D. program. I have an M.A. in Hebrew Bible from Jewish Theological Seminary, an M.Div. from Harvard Divinity School, and a B.A. from DePauw University. This blog is about my journey. I read books. I watch movies and TV shows. I go to church. I try to find meaning. And, when I can’t do that, I just talk about stuff that I find interesting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

