Don’t Leave Home: A Discussion Of Presidential Farewell Addresses

Edge Induced Cohesion

It can be immensely instructive to pay attention to what someone says last.  This is especially true of presidents, whose words in general are under more scrutiny than most because of the office that they hold, and whose last words are an attempt to shape policy decisions and the mindset of the American people for many years to come.  As is only fitting on a day where I am at work with an impending ice storm and where so many people have decided not to leave home, I figured I would talk about some of the more notable farewell addresses, both intentional and intentional, from our nation’s presidents over time, at least those which are worth reflecting upon and remembering as being different from the norm.  Although it is very likely that some of these addresses will be familiar, I hope that at least some of them will not be…

View original post 1,145 more words

About jamesbradfordpate

My name is James Pate. I study the History of Biblical Interpretation at Hebrew Union College in Cincinnati, Ohio, as part of its Ph.D. program. I have an M.A. in Hebrew Bible from Jewish Theological Seminary, an M.Div. from Harvard Divinity School, and a B.A. from DePauw University. This blog is about my journey. I read books. I watch movies and TV shows. I go to church. I try to find meaning. And, when I can’t do that, I just talk about stuff that I find interesting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

