Jesus is Humankind’s Saviour, But Not a Literary Critic.

James Bishop's Theological Rationalism

Jeebus.jpg

Biblical inerrantists make regular use of the fact that Jesus sometimes referred to biblical stories (especially Old Testament ones) such as where David ate the showbread, or the one where Jonah was in the belly of the fish, or where Daniel predicted the desecration of the temple. To the inerrantist these allusions by Jesus to biblical stories somehow supports their (not the Bible’s) doctrine of inerrancy. However, the late biblical scholar James Barr exposes this faulty assumption:

“The high status that the Old Testament holds in the mind of Jesus and the early Christians will be granted by the most critical as a matter of historical fact, and therefore the fundamentalist efforts to prove this are of no importance. On the other hand, the fundamentalist attempts to argue that these sayings of Jesus and the New Testament writers about Jonah, Daniel, and Moses prove the historical accuracy of the Old…

View original post 381 more words

About jamesbradfordpate

My name is James Pate. I study the History of Biblical Interpretation at Hebrew Union College in Cincinnati, Ohio, as part of its Ph.D. program. I have an M.A. in Hebrew Bible from Jewish Theological Seminary, an M.Div. from Harvard Divinity School, and a B.A. from DePauw University. This blog is about my journey. I read books. I watch movies and TV shows. I go to church. I try to find meaning. And, when I can’t do that, I just talk about stuff that I find interesting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

