I still can’t participate in National Day of Prayer

Sarahbeth Caplin

This is for the woman who gave me the stink eye when she overheard me say to my husband, “This is ridiculous.”

What’s ridiculous? The suggestion that we as a church group go out about the town – to bars, restaurants, wherever – and pray, in honor of National Day of Prayer.

2_national_day_of_prayer

Though if I’m being completely honest here, part of me wanted to be overheard. This is one instance of a cultural Christian phenomenon that is normal and/or celebrated among many American Christians, and it’s one instance that makes me turn up my nose and think I’m so much more mature than these people. Yes, more mature than these people who have been Christians all their lives, while my faith is transitioning from diapers to pull-ups. I know it’s not a very Christ-like way to think, and I’m calling myself out on it.

Yet part of me wanted…

View original post 703 more words

About jamesbradfordpate

My name is James Pate. I study the History of Biblical Interpretation at Hebrew Union College in Cincinnati, Ohio, as part of its Ph.D. program. I have an M.A. in Hebrew Bible from Jewish Theological Seminary, an M.Div. from Harvard Divinity School, and a B.A. from DePauw University. This blog is about my journey. I read books. I watch movies and TV shows. I go to church. I try to find meaning. And, when I can’t do that, I just talk about stuff that I find interesting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

