Lipovsky-in the wilderness

theoutwardquest

Let me remind you of the main thesis of Igor Lipovsky’s Early Israelites.  His subtitle is “Two Peoples, One History”.   He sees the house of Joseph as a different people than the house of Jacob.  The first came out of Egypt with he Hyksos in the middle of the 16th century BCE.  The second came out of Egypt in the early 12th century.  So there were at least two exodus events.

Moses, in the 12th century, knew about the presence of the Israel tribal alliance in the north.  His plan was always to link up with them.  However, he was also a religious reformer.  Both peoples were pagans.  They had some historical links to Yahweh worship but both worshipped other gods now.  Joshua 24:15 probably reveals the truth:

Now obey the Lord and worship him with integrity and loyalty. Put aside the gods your ancestors worshiped beyond the Euphrates…

View original post 554 more words

About jamesbradfordpate

My name is James Pate. I study the History of Biblical Interpretation at Hebrew Union College in Cincinnati, Ohio, as part of its Ph.D. program. I have an M.A. in Hebrew Bible from Jewish Theological Seminary, an M.Div. from Harvard Divinity School, and a B.A. from DePauw University. This blog is about my journey. I read books. I watch movies and TV shows. I go to church. I try to find meaning. And, when I can’t do that, I just talk about stuff that I find interesting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

