Refuting Atheist John Loftus – On the Historical Atrocities of Christianity.

I’m not necessarily reblogging this because I agree, but it does interact with a good question: If the Holy Spirit has been guiding Christians throughout history, why have there been atrocities and injustices committed by Christians? I particularly like the Wilberforce quote: ““[it is] the glory of Christianity, to extinguish the malignant passions; to curb the violence, to control the appetites, and to smooth the asperities of man; to make us compassionate and kind, and forgiving one to another; to make us good husbands, good fathers, good friends; and to render us active and useful in the discharge of the relative social and civil duties…[it is the] maintenance of that sobriety of spirit and tenderness of conscience, which are eminently characteristic of the true Christian.”

About jamesbradfordpate

My name is James Pate. I study the History of Biblical Interpretation at Hebrew Union College in Cincinnati, Ohio, as part of its Ph.D. program. I have an M.A. in Hebrew Bible from Jewish Theological Seminary, an M.Div. from Harvard Divinity School, and a B.A. from DePauw University. This blog is about my journey. I read books. I watch movies and TV shows. I go to church. I try to find meaning. And, when I can’t do that, I just talk about stuff that I find interesting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

