Review of Craig Keener, “Miracles,” Continued: Why Is There a Greater Frequency of Miracles in the Gospels than in Greco-Roman Biographies and Historiography?

Κέλσος

Keener, MiraclesAs we close the year 2015, I will be writing the third installment of my review of Craig Keener’s Miracles: The Credibility of the New Testament Accounts here on Κέλσος. After this part I will also probably take a break from writing this review for a period of time. The reason why is that I have a number of graduate school projects to work on with the beginning of the new year. However, I plan to return to this review periodically throughout the year 2016, and will be writing several additional installments to cover all the issues that Keener raises.

The topic of today’s installment will be about Keener’s observation that the Gospels and Acts cite miracle reports far more frequently than Greco-Roman biographies and histories, including those about historical figures reputed to work miracles, such as Vespasian. Keener creates the impression that there must have been some special…

View original post 3,398 more words

About jamesbradfordpate

My name is James Pate. I study the History of Biblical Interpretation at Hebrew Union College in Cincinnati, Ohio, as part of its Ph.D. program. I have an M.A. in Hebrew Bible from Jewish Theological Seminary, an M.Div. from Harvard Divinity School, and a B.A. from DePauw University. This blog is about my journey. I read books. I watch movies and TV shows. I go to church. I try to find meaning. And, when I can’t do that, I just talk about stuff that I find interesting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

