Faust on Farms in Ancient Israel

Reblogging for future reference.

theoutwardquest

I have been reading a paper by Israeli archeologist, Avraham Faust: The Farmstead in the Highlands of Iron Age II Israel.   Iron Age II would include the late preexilic period in  Samaria and Judah.

He has suggestions that illuminate two verses.

First, in the farmsteads  archeologists found lots of winepresses , but there was little evidence of olive presses or threshing floors for grain.  The possible explanation is that farmers took olives and grains to settlements for processing, but that farms marketed their own wine “labels”.  This would fit with the song of the vineyard in Isaiah 5:2:

He built a hedge around it, removed its stones,

and planted a vine.

He built a tower in the middle of it,

and constructed a winepress.

He waited for it to produce edible grapes,

but it produced sour ones instead (NET Bible).

He also talks about the various ways the Hebrew Bible uses the word haserim (villages). Another word, ir, means settlements, although it…

View original post 387 more words

About jamesbradfordpate

My name is James Pate. I study the History of Biblical Interpretation at Hebrew Union College in Cincinnati, Ohio, as part of its Ph.D. program. I have an M.A. in Hebrew Bible from Jewish Theological Seminary, an M.Div. from Harvard Divinity School, and a B.A. from DePauw University. This blog is about my journey. I read books. I watch movies and TV shows. I go to church. I try to find meaning. And, when I can’t do that, I just talk about stuff that I find interesting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

