Part #1 – Rebuttal to atheist Hemant Mehta – Jesus’ miracles.

Reblogging for the information (particularly how non-conservative scholars interact with Jesus’ miracles).

James Bishop's Theological Rationalism

Hemant.

Atheist blogger Hemant Mehta, of The Friendly Atheist, claims that “The myth surrounding Jesus is part of the problem with Christianity… to believe Jesus… performed a number of miracles. There’s no proof of that ever happening” (1).

I feel that I am in a position to reply to Hemant because I have come to the end of my thesis that focusses entirely on Jesus miracles and their historicity. So, I think I may have a general idea about this subject. The first thing I want to say is that Hemant is simply incorrect especially on historical grounds. Well, why do I say this? I say this because the evidence for Jesus being a miracle worker is quite overwhelming. In fact, I made a historical case for the miracle status (and resurrection) of Jesus without even using our gospels (see here). The second thing I want to…

View original post 3,235 more words

About jamesbradfordpate

My name is James Pate. I study the History of Biblical Interpretation at Hebrew Union College in Cincinnati, Ohio, as part of its Ph.D. program. I have an M.A. in Hebrew Bible from Jewish Theological Seminary, an M.Div. from Harvard Divinity School, and a B.A. from DePauw University. This blog is about my journey. I read books. I watch movies and TV shows. I go to church. I try to find meaning. And, when I can’t do that, I just talk about stuff that I find interesting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

