Book Review – ‘Neither Jew nor Greek: A Contested Identity’ by James D.G. Dunn (part 1)

Reblogging for future reference.

The Dustin Martyr Blog

Greetings,

I just got my copy of James Dunn’s Neither Jew nor Greek: A Contested Identity in the mail yesterday. This is the third and final installment of Dunn’s Christianity in the Making series in which he outlines the development and formation of the Christian movement beginning with Jesus, the early Church, and on into the middle of the second century. The first installment, Jesus Remembered, was published back in 2003 (meaning I read it as a teenager). The second, Beginning from Jerusalem, came out in 2009, thus making each subsequent volume appear over six year intervals.

IMG_1428

Over the next series of blog entries I will be summarizing and reviewing this culmination of a world-class scholar’s lifetime of research. This initial post will focus on §38.1-3a.

Dunn starts by summarizing the conclusions reached in the two former volumes, highlighting the fact that prior to the year 70 CE the followers of Jesus…

View original post 573 more words

About jamesbradfordpate

My name is James Pate. I study the History of Biblical Interpretation at Hebrew Union College in Cincinnati, Ohio, as part of its Ph.D. program. I have an M.A. in Hebrew Bible from Jewish Theological Seminary, an M.Div. from Harvard Divinity School, and a B.A. from DePauw University. This blog is about my journey. I read books. I watch movies and TV shows. I go to church. I try to find meaning. And, when I can’t do that, I just talk about stuff that I find interesting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

