Goldingay-the suffering prophet/servant

theoutwardquest

 I will shield this city and rescue it for the sake of my reputation and because of my promise to David my servant”’” (Isaiah 37:35 NET Bible).

John Goldingay in The Theology of the Book of Isaiah takes on the problem of the Servant Songs scattered through Isaiah 40-55.  Who is the Servant?  The verse above from the previous collage provides one clue.  David and his dynasty are supposed take the role of servant.  But the situation in the 540s BCE refutes that expectation.

The introduction of Cyrus, king of Persia, as shepherd (Isaiah 44:28) means to shock Israel.  David, the shepherd king of Israel, gives way to a foreign king as savior.  In 45:1 Cyrus is God’s anointed one, another Davidic title.

By an appeal to the offensiveness of a pagan, foreign king taking this role, some of the Servant Songs in Isaiah call upon Israel to take on the role of true servant of God.   Other…

View original post 370 more words

About jamesbradfordpate

My name is James Pate. I study the History of Biblical Interpretation at Hebrew Union College in Cincinnati, Ohio, as part of its Ph.D. program. I have an M.A. in Hebrew Bible from Jewish Theological Seminary, an M.Div. from Harvard Divinity School, and a B.A. from DePauw University. This blog is about my journey. I read books. I watch movies and TV shows. I go to church. I try to find meaning. And, when I can’t do that, I just talk about stuff that I find interesting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Goldingay-the suffering prophet/servant

  1. Isaiah start says he lived from Uzeriah to Hezekiah before Babylon captured. His prophecies cover his period and later. Jesus at Luke 4 declared a fulfillment of Isaiah “freeing the csptives” in 29 C.E. (from.death in Hades). 720 and 770 B.C..E. were Jubilee years.

    Like

Leave a Reply

