Goldingay-purity and covenant applied to the whole world

theoutwardquest

In The Theology of the Book of Isaiah, John Goldingay treats chapters 13-27 of Isaiah as a single collage or section.  He is not as sure of this as he is of other sections though.

Sometimes he says that Isaiah consists of 5 or 6 collages.  The candidate for the sixth collage is Isaiah 24-27.  The previous chapters announced how God deals with specific nations like Babylon or Egypt.  But these chapters announce how God deals with the whole earth.  They even seem to speak of God dealing with the  cosmos.

Some scholars have called these chapters the Isaiah Apocalypse.  Goldingay’s definition of an apocalypse is a vision that reveals things not knowable without direct revelation–about the future or about heaven and hell or prehistoric beginnings and posthistoric endings–using vivid imagery and symbolism.  By this definition much of Isaiah is apocalyptic.  So it is hard to see this section as…

View original post 518 more words

About jamesbradfordpate

My name is James Pate. I study the History of Biblical Interpretation at Hebrew Union College in Cincinnati, Ohio, as part of its Ph.D. program. I have an M.A. in Hebrew Bible from Jewish Theological Seminary, an M.Div. from Harvard Divinity School, and a B.A. from DePauw University. This blog is about my journey. I read books. I watch movies and TV shows. I go to church. I try to find meaning. And, when I can’t do that, I just talk about stuff that I find interesting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

