“Like God”

Marcus Tutt's Blog

When Adam and Eve ate the forbidden fruit they “became like God”, but not in a good way (ironically they were already like God in a good way as his image bearers!). The snake’s words were true in one sense but therein lay their despicable deceptiveness. Like the emperor Midas (the one who wished that all he touched turned to gold) the realisation of their desire turned out to be a curse. They became like God considering themselves to be the source of meaning, love, hope, power, morality, justice, provision, self, identity etc.  They put themselves in God’s place but in so doing they cut themselves off from all the things they wanted most: meaning, love, hope, power, morality, justice, provision, self, identity etc.

The question is did they realise their mistake? If they did could they have got God back and everything they had lost? When we read the…

View original post 205 more words

About jamesbradfordpate

My name is James Pate. I study the History of Biblical Interpretation at Hebrew Union College in Cincinnati, Ohio, as part of its Ph.D. program. I have an M.A. in Hebrew Bible from Jewish Theological Seminary, an M.Div. from Harvard Divinity School, and a B.A. from DePauw University. This blog is about my journey. I read books. I watch movies and TV shows. I go to church. I try to find meaning. And, when I can’t do that, I just talk about stuff that I find interesting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

