Book Review: Isaiah Saw His Glory

Diglotting

IsaiahSawHisGloryTitle: Isaiah Saw His Glory: The Use of Isaiah 52-53 in John 12

Author: Daniel J. Brendsel

Series: Beihefte Zur Zeitschrift Fur Die Neutestamentliche Wissenschaft

Bibliographic info: 280 pp.

Publisher: Walter De Gruyter, 2014.

Buy the book at Amazon or direct from the publisher

With thanks to Walter De Gruyter for the review copy.

Isaiah is one of the most notable influences from the Hebrew Bible on the Gospel of John, yet according to the author there is no book length study devoted to articulating the nature of this influence. In this study, the author seeks to fill this void by tackling the nature of the Isaianic influence on John, particularly in John 12 which he reckons “serves not simply as a transitional section or narrative hinge, but also somewhat as a precis of the message of the whole gospel.” In addition to this, the author focuses on…

View original post 811 more words

About jamesbradfordpate

My name is James Pate. I study the History of Biblical Interpretation at Hebrew Union College in Cincinnati, Ohio, as part of its Ph.D. program. I have an M.A. in Hebrew Bible from Jewish Theological Seminary, an M.Div. from Harvard Divinity School, and a B.A. from DePauw University. This blog is about my journey. I read books. I watch movies and TV shows. I go to church. I try to find meaning. And, when I can’t do that, I just talk about stuff that I find interesting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Review: Isaiah Saw His Glory

  1. Esther says:

    Cool link! Now I’m interested in reading the book… after the mountain of constitutional law and OT historical criticism I have yet to get through.

    Hope you’re doing well! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

