How I Stumbled into C.S. Lewis (“On Pretending to be in a PhD” pt. 1)

A Pilgrim in Narnia

Diploma_watermarkedIn my 400th blog post I noted that In 2011 I began pretending I was in a PhD. It is doubtless an odd thing to say, though it has been normal for me for so long I didn’t even think about it! One of the readers of A Pilgrim in Narnia asked me about it. So I decided to tell the story of how pretending to be a PhD student led to my place in a doctoral program. Part 1 is about how I stumbled into C.S. Lewis.

Mine is the story of the frustrated post-masters student. I would bet my best friend’s bank account that there are many people out there frustrated that their years after grad school didn’t go as planned.

I did very well in my graduate studies at Regent College, taking the award for my discipline (biblical studies). Soon after graduation, though, I began a business…

View original post 1,250 more words

About jamesbradfordpate

My name is James Pate. I study the History of Biblical Interpretation at Hebrew Union College in Cincinnati, Ohio, as part of its Ph.D. program. I have an M.A. in Hebrew Bible from Jewish Theological Seminary, an M.Div. from Harvard Divinity School, and a B.A. from DePauw University. This blog is about my journey. I read books. I watch movies and TV shows. I go to church. I try to find meaning. And, when I can’t do that, I just talk about stuff that I find interesting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

